IMPORTANT - CANCELLED **BLITHFIELD SAILING CLUB LASER OPEN CANCELLED SUNDAY 19TH SEPTEMBER** Due to the poor wind forecast for Sunday we have taken the decision to cancel our Laser open meeting. The forecast as of Friday afternoon is for little to no wind and we would rather cancel now to save people the disappointment. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Thanks Paul. (Blithfield Sailing Club Laser Fleet Rep)

Last week the club participated and had a stand at the Stafford County Show. With crowds approaching 100,000 expected, an increase on 2 years ago and the glorious weather on the second day it was anticipated we would get a lot of interest in our display stand comprising our new Krupps UK Ltd gazebo and colourful RS Feva (with all 3 sails set) and we were not disappointed. The membership sec is now bracing himself for the flood of new membership applications. Any event such as this takes a little organising behind the scenes and certainly helps with some enthusiastic people talking to the visitors about their love of sailing, therefore the Committee would like to thank everyone helping out behind the scenes and also manning the stand, including Sylvia and Alastair, Alex and Phil, Heather and David, Keith, Riccardo, Paul and Roy. Next year the event is to be held earlier in June so please pencil it in your 2022 diary.

The 7pm Wednesday evening series has now come to an end with 18 qualifiers. Results were as follows: 1st Tom Chadfield (Supernova) 2nd Ian McDonald (Solo) 3rd Paul Keeling (National 12) The 4.30pm series will continue through September or as long as daylight hours allow

Congratulations to all the winners taking part in the club Summer Regatta and the prestigious Founders Cup last weekend. This year the format comprised a pure racing series over the two days, with the intention of having 6 races with 4 to count to decide the winners, with both Windsurfers and Junior fleet boats competing. A lack of wind on the Saturday meant the race team only managed to get in 2 races however the wind improved on Sunday with over 30 competitors taking part. A great time was had by all, including the race and safety teams. And the winners were, Founders Cup; 1st Phil and Paula Mason, 2nd Ian MacDonald, 3rd Roger Woodhead Windsurf fleet; 1st Ross Ferguson, 2nd Josh Freeman, 3rd Matt Freeman Junior fleet; 1st Oscar Johnson, 2nd Luca Johnson, 3rd Harry Freeman, =4th Sam and Ollie Freeman

Keith Walker is running a RIB refresher / approved driver course on 11 September. For further details contact Keith Walker or see details on the training page (link above in 'Next Training').

The 2021 Summer Regatta will take place over the weekend of 14th & 15th August and will be open Blithfield members only. Notice of Race here. and Sailing Instructions here.

New for 2021, we have a Wednesday afternoon series with a single race at 4.30pm, this will be in addition to the 7pm start. Safety cover and OD will be provided by participants and we feel that this could be a good opportunity for members to improve skills,swop boats,socialise etc before the evening race.

Our adapted 2021 calendar has been published taking acount of the roadmap out of COVID restrictions. We have put togther a full calendar that progresses "back to normal" in due course, whilst adhering to the relevant legislation and guidelines.

The calendar has been updated with the Autumn Programme. For Sunday racing, we will be back to with our pre-COVID racing format, commencing from midday. Saturday FUN sailing continues with Buddy sailing when required. Full details here. Note that this year, the Blithfield Barrel will be for members only. Winter Membership starts on the 1st November with pro-rata membership until then, Full details here.